The first of the canning, rhubarb!

canning season has officially begun, with the overflowing of rhubarb…not only ours, but I am picking from friends and neighbors. …high in vitamin c, which is one of the main reasons I really want some stashed away for winter! 

   
 

And the canning, rhubarb preserves, and rhubarb butter…
   
       

Roasted rhubarb: chop, toss with sugar (1/2 cup sugar per 2 lbs of rhubarb), pour out on flat baking sheet and roast at 350 for about 25 minutes. 

This was great as a side dish (would be greater on vanilla ice cream I think..)

(I canned it in a water bath for 15 minutes.)

The rhubarb butter was the same process, roasting at 350… But then I put it in a big soup pot and cooked it down with 2 containers of organic orange juice concentrate, and some vanilla…….cook down (took about 3 hours) blend, add sugar to taste…(I was cooking 20 lbs of rhubarb, and added about 8 cups sugar….yikes! But rhubarb is tangy) 

The end product was delicious, I call it vanilla citrus rhubutter, a treat for winter! 

(Oh, and I water bath canned it for 20 minutes)

  

One Comment Add yours

  1. awilli0008@aol.com says:

    Loraine tried to reply while reading off of my iPad… She wrote “love rhubarb pie”… In the ‘post’ screen??? She’s strictly Facebook… Pops

    Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

Leave a Reply

